Wednesday, May 7, 2014

Nominations for National Geoscience Awards - 2013

Government of India
Ministry of Mines

Nominations for National Geoscience Awards - 2013

The Ministry of Mines invites nominations from the individuals / team of geo-scientists / engineers /technologists/academicians in order to recognize their meritorious contributions in the field of fundamental or applied geosciences, mining and allied areas with a view to provide them an incentive for striving towards excellence. The awards will be given each year.

Nature of Awards
The National Geoscience Awards are of three categories:

(A) National Geoscience Award For Excellence: Award for Excellence is made to one outstanding geo scientists / engineers /technologists/academicians for his lifetime achievements and significant contribution in any field(s) of Geosciences. The award carries a cash prize of Rs. 500,000/-, a certificate, a citation and a trophy.

(B) National Geoscience Awards: Nineteen awards are given to geo-scientists / engineers
/technologists/academicians individually or to team(s) in recognition of meritorious contribution in any of the following fields; Discovery & exploration for minerals, coal, lignite & coal bed methane, oil, natural gas & gas hydrates and, groundwater, mining technology, mineral beneficiation (including mineral economics), sustainable mineral development, stratigraphy, structural geology, paleontology, geomorphology, Economic Geology, Geodynamics, petrology and geochemistry, applied geology, geophysics / applied geophysics, geo-environmental studies, disaster management, ocean development, geo-information system and Glaciology and Antarctic Research. Each award carries a cash prize of Rs. 200,000/-, a certificate, a citation and a trophy.

(C) Young Researcher Award : This is a single award for research work in any field of geoscience to Researchers / Scientists from Universities, academic and professional institutions who are below 30 years of age as on the 31st December of the Year of Award. Award carries a cash prize of Rs. 50,000 a certificate, a citation and a trophy.

Any citizen of India who is a professionally qualified geo-scientists / engineers /technologists/academicianswith significant contribution in any of the field specified in Clause 3 of the Regulation shall be eligible for the National Geoscience Awards.

The nominations (in the prescribed nomination form only) for the National Geoscience Award for Excellence - 2013 and the National Geoscience Awards – 2013 and one Young Researcher Award-2013 are invited from individuals through designated sponsoring organisations as mentioned in Clause 9 of the Regulations.

The last date of receipt of nominations will be 31st  May, 2014

Nominations received beyond the stipulated date or incomplete or nominations made in any format other than the prescribed will be rejected.

The Regulations along with nomination form can be downloaded from the website:  

For more information please contact:  
Dy. Secretary (Technical), Ministry of Mines, Room No 306-D, 3rd Floor, D-Wing, Dr.Rajendra Prasad Road, New Delhi-110001, Telefax-01123385329 ,email-    

No comments: